Cafeina

img_7571

Cafeina is quite a place and the circumstances under which our intro happened were slightly weird to say the least. I got a reservation on recommendation from my friends in Porto and thought of it as a beach-side relaxed restaurants with great food. I turned up freshly swam from the sea in my skimpy shorts and a vest with a tote bag brimming with my beach towel to find a very beautiful and quite formal looking place. I cursed myself and sat down and fell in love with the food. Luckily there weren’t many people around and even though staff didn’t look too pleased I had a good time in my beach attire so yeah…

 

And might I also let you know it is a Michelin Star establishment (not that it does anything for food, it just jacks the prices up).

Booking: Highly recommended, it is a bit of a hot-spot for locals.

Interior and Ambiance: Beautiful and chic from inside and rustic from outside. I was quite surprised at the difference between interior and exterior but I suppose it is part of the charm. It is a little intimidating though if you want an informal, loud gathering.

img_7575

Food:

Quite a selection. the menu was a good mix of fusions, modern and traditional food. I absolutely and utterly loved something I haven’t had in ages; goat leg which is a bit of Porto delicacy and is absolutely divine. Lamb can’t even touch the beauty of goat meat.

img_7574

The artisan bread, little balls of white butter and olives were all amazing till the food arrived.

Starter:

Grilled Scallops with Foie Gras – Perfectly seared and beautifully matched with caramalised Foie Gras. Scallops were tender and perfectly cooked.

Main:

Roasted goat leg with Spring Vegetables – Absolutely divine, like I said before lamb meat is not half as amazing as goat meat. The roast was perfectly done with very tender meat that just melted in my mouth.

Things to love: Location, Food

Negatives: Pricey, Staff Attitude

Food Experience       ★★★★
Service                        ★★★★★
Ambiance                   ★★★★
Price                             £££££

Leave a Reply

