Velha Casa

img_6546

Valeha Casa reminds me why I started this blog; to find places like this one, simple, authentic and close to the heart of local people. I happened to stumble upon this one while walking a little outside the old town in Faro and since I was super hungry I decided to give it a go and it was one of the best decisions of my trip.

Booking: Absolutely no need, they are a local small canteen instead of a fancy place and you walk in to get some amazing goodness.

Interior and Ambiance: In one word; homely. Simple but clean interior with people sitting around you on wooden big chairs watching TV in a very relaxed and friendly environment. It was not only a meal but a chance to step into the ordinary lives of locals.

Food: The menu is quite simple and has a few options which had typical Portuguese dishes.

I asked them for some bread and local cheese till I waited for main meal and I’m glad I did. the cheese was absolutely delicious and bread was fresh and both kept me company with fresh orange juice till I got to the big plate that came after.

The lamb chops with chips are the best I’ve had in ages. I want to confess I decided to go there for lunch the day after as well because I loved these so much and I usually don’t eat at the same place twice. The meat was soft and juicy and absolutely nice done. I had forgotten what properly seasoned meat can do to your tongue. A splash of lemon juice made it even quirkier.

Things to love: Homely environment, food, prices, hospitality

Negatives: None

Food Experience       ★★★★
Service                        ★★★★
Ambiance                   ★★★★
Price                             £££££

Leave a Reply

