Hyderabad Darbar

Not every quest to get your hands on yummy food is a success and sadly Hyderabad Darbar was one such fruitless journey to Green road. My friend bigged the place up with talks of amazing desi food. Now if there’s something that excites me it is the prospect of eating some amazing Biryani.

A short trip to Westfield Stratford translated into a bus journey to Green street one very chilly Sunday evening. The thought of some warm biryani gave us strength to keep going beyond my usual coping capacity which is Zone 2.

We arrived to a half empty restaurant with slightly outlandish decor and were seated and provided menus. The menu was quite tempting and we ordered some lamb biryani with haleem because my friend wasn’t hungry with some lassi (Yogurt diluted with milk and water).

The food was pretty quick to arrive and with quite excitement I dug into haleem and the excitement dived down with every spoon, the taste was watery with a weird smell and I couldn’t eat after the third spoon. I asked for some fried onions, lemon, green chillies and garlic which is a must with haleem and I was told it was not provided here but they brought it for me. The taste got a bit better with all the stuff but still the watery taste and smell made it inedible.

I shifted my attention to biryani which is always served with a curry here for some weird reason. It was boring, completely bland with hard meat and no flavour.

Hyderabad Darbar was a disappointing experience unfortunately, one that left me sad on a cold grey evening…

Food Experience       ★★★★★
Service                        ★★★★★
Ambiance                   ★★★★★
Price                             £££££

 


Leave a Reply

