Week 9

So after my latest measurements I found out that I have actually gained 3% fat partly because of my holiday in Venice and munching on those amazing pizzas and also because I went on a tangent and ate some Chinese take away food to comfort myself about my a**hole manager!!!

So the first reaction was disappointment but I realised if I fall down now it will be the end of all this restraint and hard work so I picked myself up and went on the run to make the most delicious food without compromising on taste, isn’t that all this fuss is about anyway?

So ladies, gentlemen and everyone else I present my proud creations to you; chicken wings in Asian marinade, deep fried chicken and lamb chops with mint and Okra.

img_5337

Look at these beauties and no they are not difficult to make. All you need is some soy sauce, a teaspoon of brown sugar, red chilli flakes, crushed garlic, lime and an oven. Add everything to soy sauce and marinate the chicken wings for as long as possible, ideally couple of hours. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees and line a tray with some coconut oil and add the wings and the marinade on top. Bake for 15-20 minutes and enjoy the wings. Add some extra lime at the end if you like it tangy like I do. Another option is to add a little butter in the last 5 minutes.

img_5413-1

So I have been introduced to Air fryer by my flatmate and we launched our mission to make perfect southern fried chicken that doesn’t look like heart disease on a plate. Air fryer basically works with heating the compartment that evaporates the oil and gets the stuff fried in pressure. Normally it uses the oil within stuff but for chicken wings you do need a teaspoon of oil. To make the crispy crunchy coating you need some breadcrumbs, whatever spices you fancy (I used red chilli flakes, cumin, oregano), an egg and a tablespoon of milk. Whisk the egg with milk and dip the wings in it. In a separate plate add breadcrumbs, spices and sat and roll the egg coated wings in it. Place it in the fryer and run on 180 degrees for 15 minutes with a small teaspoon of coconut oil. I loved the crunchy taste and it didn’t feel like I was going to die of heart diseases in my 40’s.  have to to thank Philips for this one.

The last bit is addition of my most fav veg in the world okra with lamb chops and saffron rice.

I took some okra and washed it before chopping, dry it with paper towel and chop the top and tail and chop the rest in small pieces (Ignore the slime it will go away). Fry some onions in coconut oil and add some tomatoes, salt, lemon, dried pomegranate seeds if you have any and okra and fry it on high heat for a couple of miutes. Then lower the heat and let the veg wilt a bit. Fry again at high heat at the end and the slime will be gone, enjoy okra with some mint chops and boiled rice with saffron. For lamb chops I simply added salt and dried mint and air fried them. You can also use the grill on high heat if you want them medium rare.

So ladies and gentlemen , this has been  my week praising and thanking modern technology, excitement about some sun and summer and hoping to show off that kick ass body on the beach soon.

I hope you’re all doing great as well…


Leave a Reply

