Week 5

Sooo week 5 has passed and unfortunately there hasn’t been much happening on trying new food front other than the below mainly because I have been sick, sore throat is a sore bitch…

It is so easy to ruin your diet when sick but I guess it is a good time to reflect and not stray away from your diet. Sadly i got some Gaz from Iran and went through the whole box in a day and the guilt is killing me now.

The first thing that I tried in its entirety without changing anything was this Avocado Spinach Salad. Ideally you’d use the big leaves but everyone is so hyped up on baby leaves spinach it is all I got from Tesco. You wash and dry the spinach and season with salt and olive oil and let it sit for a minute. I normally chop the avocados and freshly and add them to the spinach to get the fresh look and taste otherwise they go limp and dark.


Another quick lunch this week came from Beef chilli with veggies from ProteinHaus and while it was interesting I wouldn’t pick this one again. Boringggg!!!!

The second thing I tried was Kedegree. I got the recipe through Gousto which had very little time to prepare and cook and no dairy in it.

The ingredients you need are:

  • Smoked cod or haddock
  • Raw prawns (extremely optional but I love the taste)
  • Basmati Rice
  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Curry Powder
  • Salt to taste
  • Coconut Oil
  • Cheery tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Ginger and Garlic

Recipe:

Fry some onions in coconut oil and add some ginger, garlic, salt and curry powder to the mix. I have a rice cooker so I put all this in the rice cooker with double the amount of water than rice. (2 cups water for 1 cup rice). Once it is almost done, add the prawns and cod on top and let it steam till the rice are fully done. Heat up the over and roast the half cut cherry tomatoes. (I love the charred crispy skin on those so I let it go an extra minute of two).

Add the tomatoes to rice, add the hard boiled eggs and you are good to go…

The last bit is a bit of sick man’s recipe but I love it because it is awesome for your throat and fever; Chicken broth. Simply take some washed chicken and add twice the water along with garlic, black pepper, salt,clove buds, cumin and dried coriander seeds. Let it boil for an hour or so. The broth is awesome for you and the meat will be even better once you roast it slightly in coconut oil and boiled garlic.

I am feeling slightly better so I’ll go on and explore some more options this week including a new salmon beetroot recipe and meatballs with an easy Asian sauce. Stay tuned…

 


Leave a Reply

