La Cabrera

‘One of the 50 best steakhouses in South America’ got me really excited about La Cabrera in Buenos Aires and for my last meal in the city I headed to La Cabrera with a local friend.

We arrived around 8pm which is really early by South American standards for dinner and we were told there’s no space without reservation despite the whole restaurant being empty (this was my friend inquiring). I pointed the fact in English and all of a sudden we had a table to ourselves; pretentious much?

We were seated in a room with a very beautiful interior, a good reminder of steakhouse culture in Buenos Aires and then arrived our waiter. Luckily we were the only ones in the area so he took our order and left. We choose a big butterfly steak to share and asked for medium rare.

The room started to fill with other people and after a bit of chit chat our server provided some bread and olives which were good to nibble on till the steak arrived.

I got quite excited to see a perfectly grilled steak with juices running but this turned into utter disappointment when I made my first cut, it was overly done and the texture was that of hard plastic. I asked for the waiter who, by this time, was overworked being the only one in the area serving 8-9 tables and by the time he arrived the steak got cold. I pointed out the issue and I was told it was perfectly fine and then he ran out of English and I ran out of patience. I ate a few more chips and left the steak there with a complaint for the management.

I asked for the bill which really pissed me off. The bill was more than my bills from 3 other steakhouses combined for a steak I didn’t have and then it took 30 minutes to pay the bill because the waiter was busy and card machine was far off.

La Cabrera was the worst experience I’ve had in Buenos Aires and honestly anywhere I have traveled so far. I could imagine it being a combination of bad luck and wrong timings but the staff attitude just made things worse. The place is a perfect example of all that glitters is not gold…

Food Experience       ★★★★★
Service                        ★★★★★
Ambiance                   ★★★★
Price                             £££££



Leave a Reply

