Calden

Calden del Soho, one of the best parillas in Buenos Aires located in the new and trendy neighbourhood of Soho. The restaurants is located on the corner of a nice street and looks liek a place where you wouldn’t want to go in shorts but its relaxed generally (I went in shorts).

I was really in the mood to dig my teeth into a big piece of steak and the recommendations and reviews made it irresistable and set the bar quite high. I skipped the starters and went for Bife de Chroizo which is sirloin and quite thick. I asked for Medium Rare steak.

I looked around while enjoying my freshly squeezed juice and the crowd was mostly mixed with locals and foreigners both in almost equal proportion; it is very hard to judge a place with mixed crowd…

The waiter brought some bread and butter which I completely ignored because by this time I almost felt like a lion looking at its prey waiting to devour it; National Geographic much!

Finally the steak came and I picked up my knife and fork and jumped on it. The first bite was chewy and then it dawned on me; THE STEAK WAS OVERCOOKED!!!

How could this happen, I asked the waiter and he pointed out they are not Brazillians and this is what Medium rare looks like in Argentina. I decided to give it a go and after a few bites it got softer especially in the middle. The steak was quite thick and it took some time to finish that big a piece but finally when I got done there was this weird feeling that I just ate a relatively less tasty steak that could have been much juicier had it been allowed to breath more.

Calden was a good intro to Argentinean steaks but the overall experience was no more than an average visit to an average restaurant on an average day, we hope it gets better otherwise it would be such a waste of a nice Argentinean steakhouse.

 

 

Food Experience       ★★★★★

Service                        ★★★★★

Ambiance                   ★★★★

Price                             £££££



Leave a Reply

