Patty & Bun

I have yet to meet a person who doesn’t like burgers. The thought of a soft bun wrapped around a nice thick patty oozing with melted cheese and smothered in sauce and a few veggies or pickles tickles everyone’s tongue no matter how conservative their taste.

I found myself hearing a lot about this cute burger joint; Patty & Bun,  close to a friends office who highly recommended it, according to him this is his most frequented lunch place in the city of London. I instantly got curious and hungry (When it is about food I can seem to know the difference) so last night i decided to pay a visit and taste the much talked about burgers.

The cafe is right next to Liverpool street station and quite smitten with a nice interior with slightly louder music for my liking but oh well, I didn’t come here for music.

The menu is quite simple and you choose the burger along with any sides of your choice and then it is brought to your table. I decided to go for the lamb shank redemption burger along with thunder thighs glazed with tamarind sauce.

You can see the kitchen from outside the cafe and in a few minutes I found myself staring at a hefty portion of chicken thighs and a neatly wrapped burger. My salivary glands got pretty out of control when by the time I unwrapped the burger completely and with full anticipation I took my first bite. Either this was not the same place or my friend or the rest of London didn’t know about good burgers. The bun was quite plasticky and the brioche bun quite hard and dry. I took another bite and then another but no change in taste. I halfheartedly almost finished the burger and turned my attention to the thunder thighs. The tamirind sauce was quite nice but the problem again came with the chicken which was quite elastic and dry instead of soft and fragrant. The nuts added gave the much needed flavour and as I got to the second thigh and then third I realized the problem with the sauce; it was too tangy and I had to leave that as well.

In this jungle we called London there’s plenty of burgers, good and bad and with all the anticipation I had for the burgers of Patty & Bun, I would describe my experience as below average.

Food Experience       ★★★★★

Service                        ★★★★★

Ambiance                   ★★★★★

Price                             £££££




Leave a Reply

